quiet time.

My eyes are burning from lack of sleep yet I cannot fall back into a restful slumber.  Baby wanted to either be awake  or on my boob for the entire night.  Somewhere around 3 am I got her to fall asleep and put her in her swing for a few hours so I could get some shut eye.  She of course woke up again around 6 am and we were back to the same song and dance.  Shortly before 7 am I got her back into the swing, though I don’t expect her to last there much longer.  I wish I could have slept this last little bit, but something about being woken up all night long just has me all wound up.  Plus I hear her stirring a bit so I know I don’t have much longer.

I have to go to the dentist again this morning to get another tooth fixed and my mil is coming over to watch Baby.  I’ve tried pumping a few times and I’m not having much luck, probably because Baby has sucked me dry!  ha.  I won’t be gone that long, so it should be okay with what I’ve got.

We are in the midst of a cold spell here and I would really rather not leave the house.  The temps are only to be in the 40’s today and the snow level is down to 1000 feet.  I can see snow on the mountains when I look out my windows.  It’s pretty out but so nice and toasty in my house.  I need to mail two packages today and go to the dentist, so sadly I must go out.  But I will not go to the post office to mail my packages.  The UPS store is nearby and their prices are quite reasonable and I know I won’t get pissed off when I get there like I would going to the post office.  Those people are just pure idiots who work there and I don’t have the energy or desire to deal with them.

But even though my eyes are burning, I am glad that I had some time to myself this morning.  Through bleary eyes I read the paper, ate some breakfast and drank some coffee.  Do you all read the paper?  It’s such a shame that the newspaper industry is slowly going away as well.  I blame the internets and 24 hour news stations…well and the fact that many people just too lazy to read.  Sure you can grab stuff online, but what fun is that?  I love to read the paper with a cup of coffee in the morning.  There’s just something about having a little  ink rub off on your fingers as you read the headlines and learn what’s new in the world.  Maybe I’m biased, being in a newspaper family and all, but I grew up with my dad reading the New York Times and the Los Angeles Times cover to cover each day.  Now when hubby russles the paper as he reads, I’m always reminded of my dad.  It’s a plesant sound to me.  I got hubby a subscription to the Wall Street Journal this year and it’s by far his favorite gift.  So between that and our local paper, which only covers the local happenings, I’m pretty much set.  Though I do admit, I do cheat and go online to read the SF Chronicle because I just don’t want to buy the whole paper, but I figure I’ve already got most of the news from the WSJ so I’m really only finding out what’s going on entertainment wise in SF.

Well now that my eyes are starting to shut on their own, I’m going to try to take a cat nap before the Baby needs me again…

2 responses to this post.

  1. The worst thing is people don’t read newspapers, then when some issue finally grabs their attention, they complain that “the media doesn’t tell them anything” and has been covering it up. Um, no, it’s been there on the front page, you just don’t care enough to read.

  2. I miss getting the paper. I feel out of touch.

Leave a Reply

