turning over a new leaf.

I can’t believe that Christmas is a little over a week away.  Where did the year go?  I seriously want to know.  Everything seems like such a blur and frankly, I’m glad it’s almost over.  The past 14 months have been intense and I’m looking forward to a new year with new beginnings.  Well, maybe not new beginnings but turning over a new leaf for sure.  Hey, speaking of which, I am awaiting a package from the darling Wendy B with a sterling silver leaf that I have decided will be my symbol for the new year.  Now if only my lame mail carrier would deliver it already!!!  sigh.

The biggest thing I want to turn over is my outlook on finances.  Well, more than just my outlook, I want to actually DO what I set out to do, not just talk about it.  Today I am working on an actual family budget rather than just guesstimating at it.  This weekend I finally paid off all the remaining medical bills from my delivery of little miss peanut.  Who know it cost so much to have a baby, even with good insurance!? Ugh.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m so glad it happened, I just had no idea it would cost so much.

I’m also turning over my outlook on my parents, which I have already started to do.  I no longer look to them for approval or get upset when they don’t want to participate in my life.  It is their loss and I refuse to be sad about it anymore.  I will continue to be corgial to them, but that’s about it.

UGH.  My mail carrier just came WITHOUT MY PACKAGE.  Damn him.  I HATE HATE HATE my mail carrier.  I never get stuff that is supposed to come to me and I always have to go to the post office to track it down.  And he sucks at picking up outgoing mail from my mail box, too.  We’ve found our mail strewn on the ground and neighbors have even found it down the street!  And we often have mail delivered to us for other people whose address is nothing like ours!  I now have to take my mail to the post office to mail it instead of trusting my mail carrier to pick it up.  The only way packages come to me without problems is by ups, fed ex or dhl and that just sucks.  Why can’t my mail person actually do his job?  I don’t live in a weird location and my mail box and front door are very easily accessible.  And forget about complain about him to anyone at the post office.  I’ve tried that and no one cares.  All I can say is my package better be at the post office when I get there this afternoon.

Now where was I?  Oh yes.  Continuing to turn over a new leaf….well, I think those are the only leaves I can think of right now.  Well, one more thing I want to do is actually do something with my writing.  I want to do some freelance work and see if I can actually get paid for it.  Since Baby is now at the point where she naps with more regularity and can also be okay playing with herself for a bit, I’m sure that I can get some writing down in her downtime.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, the mail thing would drive me crazy! I hope you get your package soon.

    Sounds like a great plan for the new year! Have you heard of Dave Ramsey — a lot of people LOVE his financial planning stuff.

  2. I’m ready for a fresh start, too.

    I would be livid about your mail situation. Livid!

  3. I’m glad you finally got your leaf (after this post was written). I should consider what new leaves I need to turn over in 2009.

Leave a Reply

