and the results are in…

Well, the results are in and the change is big.  My ideal candidate, Ron Paul, was no longer in the running so I voted for the next best man, Bob Barr.  No, he wasn’t one of the big two, but in my opinion, he was the next best thing.  And yes, I did realized that when I voted for him, he would not win.  And while I am a registered Republican, I am much more a Libertarian than anything else.  I am quite fiscally conservative, but very socially liberal.  McCain frightened me, especially since he’s pretty much ready to take a dirt nap, and don’t even get me started on Sarah Palin.  I think that if she were to be in congress for a few years and get a little seasoning, she would have been a much better candidate.  But the mere fact that she didn’t even know what role the Vice President was, was only the tip of the iceberg.  Every day their campaign was more of a disaster than the previous day.  It was almost embarrassing to watch them flail and falter around.  So I wasn’t surprised that Obama won and I knew it would be a landslide victory.  And I honestly think it’s great that we have a black man in the White House.  It really shows how far as a country we have come.

But I do have some frustration with results from the Great State that I live in.  Proposition 8, which would have allowed same sex marriage, failed.  I honestly thought that it would have passed, especially with how liberal our state is.  Granted, it only failed by a few percentage points, but it failed nonetheless.  I have several gay friends who are quite dear to me and the fact that the State has the right to tell them who they can or cannot marry is just not okay with me.  You can’t help who you fall in love with, so I don’t understand why the government thinks they should have control over who you can marry.  It just makes me sad.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Duck of Happiness on November 5, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    It makes me sad too. Someday I hope the world wakes up.

  2. Posted by Jason Hall, A New Libertarian on November 11, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I too I voted for a third party candidate this year for the first time ever. It was Wes Upchurch, for Missouri’s Secretary of State.

    Next election everyone should do the same. We need people who are libertarians and Ron Paul republicans in office.

Leave a Reply

