rant.

I am so tired of people and their comments about Baby.  And by people, I mostly mean my parents and others who don’t have young children or who have never had children.

I’m tired of people commenting that it’s so bad that I let the cats near the baby.  For god’s sake, that cats aren’t going to do anything to her.  It’s more of an old wives’ tale than anything else that a cat will suffocate a child.  Seriously.  First of all, the cats are never alone with her.  Second of all, they don’t sleep on her at all.  They might sleep near her, but they don’t even touch her.  Third of all, they totally watch out for her.  If she is crying, they come running to find me and if someone else is holding her, they make sure that she is okay standing near and watching.  And no, they are not smelling her breath for milk.  That’s just lame.

And yes, Baby sleeps in bed with me.  Yes, I will eventually put her in her nursery, but she’s only 2 1/2 months old right now.  It’s not that big of a deal that she’s still sleeping in our room.  She will be moved soon enough.  No, it is not a bad habit that we are forming.

Yes, we let Baby sleep on her tummy.  She sleeps on her back, too, but she likes to sleep on her tummy with her little butt in the air.  She’s fine.  It was only in the last decade or so that doctors thought it would help reduce SIDS if a baby slept on their back.  I know I slept on my tummy as a baby and I turned out just fine.

What I don’t understand is why people feel the need to be so judgemental about everything.  Just because I may do something different than you did, doesn’t mean I’m wrong or that my child will grow up funny, so seriously, shut the fuck up.

Okay, rant over.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I totally know what you’re talking about. There was a lady on the plane when I went out to CA — she was really nice and offered to help me get all our stuff onto the plane. Then she was sitting in front of me. When we started descending to our destination, she felt the need to turn around and ask if I had a pacifier, because I should put it in Jackson’s mouth so that his ears wouldn’t hurt. Duh! And by the way, the boy was asleep!

    I felt like saying, “thanks. After having 7 kids before him, I wasn’t aware of that.” But, I couldn’t think that fast.

    Parents are entitled to do things their own way – people need to back off and let that happen unless the child is in serious danger or being beaten in public.

    hang in there! You’re doing a GREAT job!

  2. Posted by a loving friend on October 27, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Hi shell,

    I think they are just trying to be helpful…

    In my opinion, babies shouldn’t sleep in their parents’ bed. it can become a bad habit…. (i know 5 year olds that still join mom and dad)… but hey – if it’s working for you… so be it. 🙂

    babies also are not supposed to sleep on their tummy….
    however, you are “driving the bus” and can make whatever decision you like… as it is your bundle of joy. 🙂

    I know what you mean that parents are meddling at times (well all the time….) but i really do think they do it with love and experience.

    … at least that’s what i tell myself right before i want to say FUCK OFF!

  3. Oh Shell….You might want to reconsider her sleeping position. I slept on my tummy too, and often people tell me that there is seriously something wrong with me! 🙂 I am sure you are doing a great job and while they may mean well, Baby is in very capable hands, so tell em to back off!!

Leave a Reply

