she’s here!!

Even though I am utterly exhausted, I wanted to share my little bundle of joy. My sweet little miss was born at 7 AM on Sunday, August 17.  She weighed in at 7 lbs 8 oz and measured in at 18 inches.   After 17 hours of hard labor ~ my contractions were about 5-6 minutes in length and were literally off the chart ~ I was taken for an emergency C-Section. It was organized chaos, but everything happened so fast. My little on was in distress, but no real reason as to why. There was thought that my placenta separated from my uterus, but no one knows for sure. Just after she was born, she stopped breathing for 8 minutes, so was sent to the NICU for observation. She was a little trooper and by the time I saw her 3 hours later, she was breathing on her own with out tubes. She was put on an IV for the first 2 days since she couldn’t feed as her body shut down when she stopped breathing. I started pumping on day 2 as I was too beat to do anything the first day. She was detached from her IV on day 3 and has been great ever since. I started breast feeding on day 2 and she feeds like a champ. We have already started calling her mini lamprey because she makes a funny little face, opens her mouth real wide and latches on to my breast and just sucks away. I’m so glad she is a healthy little eater as that is one less thing to worry about. All in all I was in the hospital from 1 PM on Saturday to 1 PM on Thursday. There is so much more to write, but I’m beat so I’ll write again in a few days. Here are a few photos to get you started…

Day One:

Day Five:

6 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so glad to see your post! And so glad you’re home and that she’s doing well. I want to hear all the details, so when you’re up to it, let’s chat on the phone. She’s beautiful!!

  2. Beautiful! Congratulations.

  3. She is gorgeous!

    Congratulations to all, I am so happy that what must have been a scary time turned out so wonderfully.

    Welcome to parenthood, babe!

  4. OMG OMG OMG!! Congrats! 🙂 She’s beautiful.

  5. She is beautiful, congratulations! She doesn’t look like a newborn that has been through a rough labor, she is so pretty!

  6. Ach, I’m so behind! Sorry this is a week late, but:

    CONGRATULATIONS, MAMA!!!!!!!

    She is absolutely beautiful. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

