day one.

Today is day one of maternity leave.  I slept in until 9:30 am, made myself an egg and toast for breakfast, I’m still in my jammmies, one of my kitties is curled up next to me and I am now watching  bad day time TV.  One of my girlfriends is coming over in an hour to hang out.  I’d say it’s a pretty good start to the day.  The best part is not having to deal with my idiot boss.    I seriously feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders.

Yesterday I wrote all my thank-you notes from my shower and various goodies that arrived before then.  I am so glad to be done!  I made myself sit until I was done, which took forever, as I was in front of the TV.  I have one more shower tomorrow and I’m not really looking forward to it.  It’s with all of mil’s friends and a bunch of other people I don’t know.  I know that sounds really ungrateful, but these ladies aren’t really friends with each other.  They just pretend to be.  It’s draining to be around them because all they do is talk about how great they are and how great their lives are because of how much money their husbands make.  I know, I know.  I will get some great stuff tomorrow.  But really?  I would much rather get something from someone who likes me and cares about me, not because they are forced to, which is what tomorrow is all about.

I’m stuck at home today because my in-laws are nutty and needed to borrow hubby’s car, so he had to take my car to work today.  Yes, there is a much longer story about their need to borrow his car, but I don’t really care to explain it.  It just feels weird not being able to go anywhere if I wanted to.  They just better figure their shit out and get his car back tomorrow.  Just because I’m preggers doesn’t mean I want to stay at home all day.

Dude.  Daytime TV is awful!!!  But I just can’t.turn.it.off.  Must.not.stay.in.jammies.all.day…..well……maybe I shouldn’t get ahead of myself……

One response to this post.

  1. I’m glad you’re enjoying your first day of maternity leave. And don’t worry, you have many more days of not getting out of your jammies…although you might not be as relaxed. =)

Leave a Reply

