thursday thirteen

Here are 13 * songs that instantly take me back to another place in time.  There are so many songs I love that take me to different places but I figured I couldn’t list them all, so here are a few, in total random order:

1.  “It’s My Life” by Gwen Stefani  I heard this song on the radio on my way to a local watering hole after work one day a few years ago.  I remember it being one of my favorite songs from the 80’s and was excited to hear one of my favorite current artist’s covering it.  When I got to the bar, I started chatting with a very good looking guy who was part of our regular group and we hit it off instantly, chatting about our love of all things 80’s.  Every time I hear this song it takes me back to that day and to that that great friendship he and I started from that day forward.

2.  “Shook Me All Night Long” by AC/DC  When I was in college, my friend Sally and I would go dancing all the time and for some reason, really had the urge to rock out when this song came on so I always think of her when I now hear it playing.  I seem to recall nights at another bar in town that we did shots to it….oh wait.  That was the Jose Cuervo song….

3.  “Enter Sandman”  by Metallica  When I was in jr high I was finally allowed to go to the carnival in town without adult supervision.  I would go with a bunch of girlfriends and go on all the rides until we were all green in the face.  This was one of the songs that was constantly playing on the crazy carnival rides.  It also reminds me of my first crush who was a die hard Metallica fan and since it was around the same time period, I think of both the carnival and my crush anytime I hear this song.

4.  “Hold On” by Wilson Philips  My family went on a road trip to Texas during the summer of ’89 and I had made a mixed tape with this song on it and I listened to it over and over again on my Walkman.  For some reason this song always reminds me of that trip and the cute boy I met at a hotel in New Mexico.  I think his name was Rodney.

5.  “Borderline” by Madonna  In elementary school I had one of the greatest girlfriends and we would always sing this song together.  We hung out all the time until we went to different schools in jr. high, then it was only sporadically that we saw each other.  I loved hanging out with her.  We lost contact somewhere during high school since we went to different schools.  I think about her from time to time and wonder what she’s up to.

6.  “This Used to be My Playground” by Madonna  I spent the summer of ’92 in Germany and would watch endless hours of MTV since I didn’t have it at home and there wasn’t much to do in the tiny farming village I was in.  I was a melodramatic teenager at the time and this song hit home for some reason.  I didn’t even know there was a movie associated with it until I came back to the States at the end of the summer.  And even though I’ve been to Germany several times, this is one of those songs that always reminds me of my time there.

7.  “End of Innocence” by Don Henley  Another song from the road trip to Texas in ’89.  I think it was the first summer I really got into my head and did some deep thinking since I had so many hours in the car.  When this song comes on, I remember deep pink and purple sunsets over Arizona and some random motel we stayed in just because there was a pool.

8.  “Semi-Charmed Life” by Third Eye Blind  This is one of my favorite songs from college.  I’m instantly taken back to hanging out with friends at the local bars, eating at Gus’s Grocery, laying on the beach in Pismo and drinking Juice Club pretty much every day.  Life was so much simpler back then.

9.  “Fade Into You” by Mazzy Star  A sultry song that I would listen to endlessly in college.  Sometimes it would make me happy, sometimes it would make me sad.  Now it just makes me reflective of that time.

10.  “Closing Time” by Semisonic  One of the bars I liked to frequent in college always played this song at the end of the night.  It was always a good time at that bar and since the town was so small, no matter where you started the evening, you always ended up there at the end of the night.

11.  “Kiss from a Rose” by Seal  There was a guy I really liked and he was way into this song, so it always makes me think of him.  We sort of dated for a bit at the end of one term, but lost touch over the summer and things were never the same that next fall.  I aways think he was the one who got away. 

12.  “Return of the Mack” by Mark Morrison  After I got my heart broken by my first love, I would listen to this song all the time to get my self esteem back.  I always wanted him to see me out dancing and regret what he had given up by dumping me.  I laugh now when I hear the song to think how silly I was. 

13.  “Can You Feel the Love Tonight”  by Elton John  Back when The Lion King came out I was in a full on Disney stage in my life and was working at The Disney Store.  A bunch of us went to see the opening of the movie at the El Capitan Theater in Hollywood.  This song always reminds me of that time and my whole experience with the Disney crowd. 

14.  ” Where Are You Going?” by Dave Matthews  There was a time in my life that I had a relationship with someone that was as intense in the bedroom as it was out.  We were a great match for each other, though we were committed to others at the time.  I will never forget him and this song always makes me remember.

* so I lied. there are 14.

Interesting how so many of these songs have to do with alcohol and boys…hmmm….

What are some songs that invoke your memories?

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Yeah baby…shook me all night long. I have NO idea why that song got us so riled up, but I STILL love to hear it (and dance to it!), and I always think of you when it plays.

  2. Ride the Lighting….. Metallica… My boyfriend totalled MY car while listening to this song….The car was completely mangled but the stereo was still blasting away when I got there….He walked away from it, but the song always pisses me off!!!

    Take On Me (Take me on?) A HA…… a boy crush in Jr High…..I got teased mercilessly over it….

    those were just the first two that came to mind, but I am very reflective with my musical choices as well…

  3. What is it with Metallica and car wrecks??

    Sad but True was blasting when I totaled my roomie’s car our freshman year of college. And as I was hanging upside down by my seat belt, it was STILL blasting and I couldn’t hear the nice man outside the window who was trying to help me…Sad but True!

  4. Just reading your picks brings me back!

Leave a Reply

